Start Racing

Courses

Hover over the commencement date for details

  • Holiday Program
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$260 NM  $260 SYC Member
        Places available : 9
      • Tuesday, January 02, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $320 SYC Member
        Places available : 9
      • Monday, January 08, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, January 09, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 11, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 12, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $320 SYC Member
        Places available : 6
      • Monday, January 15, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, January 16, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 18, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 19, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$260 NM  $260 SYC Member
        Places available : 7
      • Monday, January 22, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, January 23, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 24, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 25, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$260 NM  $260 SYC Member
        Places available : 9
      • Tuesday, April 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 06, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $320 SYC Member
        Places available : 9
      • Monday, April 09, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, April 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 11, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 12, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 13, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Weekend Program
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $320 SYC Member
        Places available : 9
      • Saturday, February 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 24, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 24, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

Probably one of the biggest challenges that the sailors face is to understand the complexity of racing.  This course is designed to equip the sailor with enhanced skills to confidently compete in Club racing in most conditions. 

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Race using basic racing rules
  • Start to use my body weight to help me tack and gybe
  • Raise my centreboard downwind
  • Start a race with flag and sound signals
  • Finish most races that I start
  • Stay close to the start line
  • Identify gusts on the water

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Identify basic flags and their meanings
  • List common race course configurations
  • Change my sail settings