Start Sailing

Courses

Hover over the commencement date for details

  • Holiday Program
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 4
      • Monday, September 25, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, September 26, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, September 27, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, September 28, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, October 02, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, October 03, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, October 04, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, October 05, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, October 06, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, December 11, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, December 12, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, December 13, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, December 14, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, December 15, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Tuesday, January 02, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, January 15, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, January 16, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 18, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 19, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Tuesday, April 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 06, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, April 09, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, April 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 11, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 12, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 13, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Weekend Program
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 6
      • Saturday, October 21, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, October 28, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 04, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 11, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, November 18, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 25, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 02, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 09, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, November 18, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 25, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 02, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 09, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$360 NM  $330 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, February 03, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 10, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 17, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 24, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 03, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 17, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$360 NM  $330 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, February 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 24, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

This Course is designed to provide a safe and enjoyable introduction to Dinghy sailing for complete beginners.  The Course includes an introduction to fundamental boat handling skills and essential safety knowledge.

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Dress for the conditions including the right PFD, sunscreen, hat and footwear
  • Swim 50 meters in a PFD
  • Right a capsized boat
  • Leave and return back to the beach
  • Be towed around behind a rescue boat
  • Avoid other boats
  • Recognise the ‘no go zone’
  • Reach around a figure of 8 and a sausage course
  • Stop my boat and get it going again
  • Pull my mainsheet in without using my teeth!
  • Steer using my tiller extension when I’m paddling or being towed
  • Tack my boat facing forward and changing my hands behind my back

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Name the main parts of my boat
  • Tie a ‘figure of 8’ knot
  • Identify where the wind is coming from
  • Rig and derig my boat with assistance