Better Sailing

Courses

Hover over the commencement date for details

  • Holiday Program
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, September 25, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, September 26, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, September 27, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, September 28, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, October 02, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, October 03, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, October 04, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, October 05, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, October 06, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, December 11, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, December 12, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, December 13, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, December 14, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, December 15, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Tuesday, January 02, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, January 15, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, January 16, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, January 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, January 18, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, January 19, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Tuesday, April 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 04, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 05, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 06, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Monday, April 09, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Tuesday, April 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Wednesday, April 11, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Thursday, April 12, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Friday, April 13, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
  • Weekend Program
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 7
      • Saturday, October 21, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, October 28, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 04, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 11, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, November 18, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 25, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 02, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 09, 2017
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$320 NM  $290 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, November 18, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, November 25, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 02, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, December 09, 2017
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
    • 09:00 AM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$360 NM  $330 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, February 03, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 10, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 17, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 24, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 03, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 17, 2018
        09:00 AM to 12:00 PM
    • 01:00 PM
      • CLICK TO BOOK$360 NM  $330 SYC Member
        Places available : 8
      • Saturday, February 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 10, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, February 24, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 03, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM
      • Saturday, March 17, 2018
        01:00 PM to 04:00 PM

This course is designed to consolidate the experience and knowledge gained in ‘Start Sailing’. Skills and knowledge are introduced that will enable the successful participant to safely and competently sail a dinghy in controlled conditions independently.

Sailors Competencies

When I’m on the water I can……

  • Recover my crew in a ‘man over board’ situation
  • Identify dangerous situations in and around the marina
  • Know where to have my sail set for all points of sailing
  • Always use my tiller extension like a microphone when I’m sailing
  • Perform a 360 degree turn
  • Sail without kneeling
  • Come alongside a stationary object and stop
  • Sail a windward / leeward course
  • Get out of the ‘No Go Zone’

And when I’m on shore I can……

  • Name the main ‘points’ of sailing
  • Name the all of the parts of my boat
  • Use aids to determine the wind direction and strength
  • Rig and derig my own boat
  • Tie a ‘bowline’ and a ‘reef’ knot